top of page

I Stole A Hogwarts Library Card

Updated: Aug 17, 2023


The Hogwarts Library is a collection of three small books written within the Wizarding World – each one is mentioned at some point during the Harry Potter series, and J. K. Rowling ended up writing them to raise money for charity. It would be so cool to read a Narnian equivalent of these books – Mr. Tumnus’ bookshelf included titles like Nymphs and Their Ways or Is Man a Myth?, and it would be so cool to actually get to read even an excerpt from either title. Rowling gives us that privilege in these books – and although each read is really short, they still have the dry humour and heart of the full series.


Quidditch Through The Ages – Kennilworthy Whisp

A brief glimpse at every wizard’s favourite sport, Quidditch Through The Ages was a short, sweet read.


I received a hardcover edition of The Hogwarts Library for Christmas, which included this book as well as The Tales of Beedle the Bard and Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them. I had just finished reading The Goblet of Fire when these made their way onto my shelves. While I waited for The Order of the Phoenix – which was certain to be a birthday gift several weeks later – I busied myself with this trilogy of Hogwartian literature. Truth be told, I was halfway through this first instalment before the end of Christmas Day. The books are exceptionally short, but that’s not to say that they’re not worth your time. Anyone who’s new to the Wizarding World would probably do better to start anywhere else, but to the initiated, this was a fun look at some more of the history and complexity of Rowling’s universe. In this book, the part that was most intriguing for me was learning about Canadian Quidditch teams – and learning about the different types of brooms was kind of cool too. Rowling has a style of delivering jokes rather smugly that I’ve noticed in all three of these little books, and it’s a perfect fit for the kind of book this is. She doesn’t take herself too seriously, which makes this book charming in a very small way.


The Tales of Beedle The Bard - With Notes by Professor Albus Dumbledore

There’s a spoiler in this book regarding the fate of certain Harry Potter characters, but it’s my own fault for being over a decade late to the party.


These really did feel like authentic fairy tales. With stories that are mostly told in brief three-part structures and a readily apparent moral to the story, these are nothing less than fun and whimsical – all except The Warlock’s Hairy Heart, which felt reminiscent of the old tale Bluebeard or perhaps Dracula. Where the others are mostly fun and games, this one was closer to a true ghost story – and I, for one, loved it. Just like its companion books, this book was so short that I finished it in likely less than an hour or two altogether. But I’m glad to have read it.


In writing this review, I looked up the Wikipedia article for the book and I think I might have additionally spoiled part of Book 7 for myself – apparently this book features in that novel. But again, it’s my own fault.


Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Newt Scamander

Although I love the physical copy of this book that sits on my shelf, I have to admit that this book demands illustration.


Like the other books in the Hogwarts Library, Fantastic Beasts is very short but not without nuggets of fun. As you likely know, it was the book that eventually led to the series of movies of the same name – though this book isn’t a narrative. It’s an encyclopedia of magical creatures living in the Wizarding World. The book kicks things off by talking a bit about why and how wizards keep these creatures from being seen by Muggles, and it’s not the first time I’ve marvelled at the sheer amount of work it takes the wizards to keep from being spotted. You know how Wakanda kept its borders closed for most of its history? Imagine if Wakanda had little cities and villages all over the world – and that they were still trying to keep their true power a secret. It’s a ludicrous task to even imagine, but the wizards seem intent on it. I wonder if there would ever come a day in the Wizarding World where they just give up on the whole secrecy thing and start trying to work things out with the Muggles. It would save them a whole lot of time and effort.


Anyway, this was just as fun as the other two. The uninitiated probably won’t get anything out of this, but everyone else is in for a little treat.

bottom of page