top of page

Die Hard

Reviewing Die Hard

I don’t think I’m one to deliberately stir the pot these days, but I have a few controversial opinions about Die Hard.


First of all, the first one isn’t my favourite of the bunch. I know that’s heresy to most in the fanbase, but I really didn’t find John McClane as all that likable of a character. I know he’s supposed to be an everyman who triumphs in the midst of his being just an ordinary guy, but much of the first act didn’t give us much reason to root for him. And yeah, I’m a bit of a prude when it comes to nudity on screen, and there were two very brief moments in the first film that I don’t think were needed. I won’t say it was a bad film – there’s a lot to like about it – but I definitely wouldn’t put this in my annual Christmas setlist.


Secondly, my first experience with the franchise was Die Hard 4 back when I was a kid – and I freaking loved it at the time. It was over the top, ludicrous and unbelievable action, a far cry from the grounded roots of the original. But I didn’t know about the original – all I knew was that I was watching a movie where a guy in a truck took on a guy in a fighter jet.

But now that I’ve seen all five, despite the special place Die Hard 4 will have in my heart as the first action movie I fell in love with, I think Die Hard 3 is my favourite. The dynamic between Bruce Willis and Samuel L. Jackson infused the film with energy from beginning to end, and the thrills never stop coming. This series isn’t exactly family friendly entertainment, but it’s certainly not going to bore anyone.


Die Hard (***1/2)

The black sheep of the Christmas classic catalogue may be a bit rough around the edges content-wise, but nail-biting action and a host of lovable characters make this a lot of fun for those who can stomach its lack of class.


Die Hard 2 (***)

Cashing in on the success of its predecessor without offering much of anything new, Die Hard 2 is still a passable popcorn flick. I just don’t think we needed the nude martial arts segment.


Die Hard: With a Vengeance (****)

Bruce Willis and Samuel L. Jackson yelling at each other for 2 hours make this an instant action classic - and my favourite Die Hard yet.


Live Free or Die Hard (***1/2)

Look, I get it. It’s stupid. You can’t hack the entire country. John McClane’s not supposed to be a god. It’s an insult to the original film. But I had a ton of fun watching it anyway.


A Good Day to Die Hard (*1/2)

Soulless, uninspired, and boring when it isn’t offensively dumb. If John McClane had said “I’m on vacation” one more time I might have thrown up.

bottom of page