top of page

Guilty

Guilty

An Easter Performance


Scene One – Mary and James

There is a cross on one side of the stage. The sound of faint crickets, distant thunder, and wind is heard. Mary, the mother of Jesus, enters on the opposite end of the stage alongside James, a disciple (Jesus’ cousin and Mary’s nephew). Mary is in a state of grief. James attempts to be a consoling presence, but ultimately is unsure how to best help his aunt process the death of her son. For a moment, both look over at the cross in silence.

Mary: I can’t believe he’s gone. (pauses) I can’t – (overcome with grief, unable to even voice her thoughts)

Text appears on the screen: “Mary – Mother of Jesus. James – Disciple of Jesus. Mary’s nephew.”

James: (hesitant) Mary...he could’ve stopped this. Maybe he knew – (Mary looks – heartbroken - at James, and James falls silent)

Mary: (eyes still on James, gesturing to the cross) How could he have allowed this? How could he have just let this happen? (she looks back at the cross and falls to her knees, head in her hands) Oh, God.

James reaches a hand out to console Mary, but retracts it, instead stepping back to give her space.

Mary: (weeping) How could I have let this happen?

James: (stepping forward to kneel beside her) Wait, you can’t think like that.

Mary: I could have stopped him from coming. I should’ve told him not to come.

James: He would’ve gone anyway.

Mary: (looking at James) I could have tried, James! (she looks back over at the cross) And now... (she rises slowly, walking towards it) ...it’s too late. (her voice fails before she is able to finish the last word)

James: Mary...it’s getting dark.

Mary does not respond. She is standing at the foot of the cross. James takes a tentative step towards her.

James: It’s not safe here. Peter and the others are meeting in town. We should go.

Mary reaches out a hand and touches the cross.

Mary: This is his blood. (she turns back to look at James) My son’s blood, and it’s – (she chokes up again)

James steps forward again and gingerly takes Mary by the shoulders to lead her away from the cross.

James: Mary, let’s go.

Mary relents and James releases her. As they begin to exit, James looks around nervously. Mary stops halfway to the exit and turns to look at the cross once more.

Mary: He’s really gone.

James: I know.

Mary stares at the cross for a few more seconds, but finally turns to leave with James.


Scene Two – James and John

Crickets and soft rain come in. In darkness, two wooden chairs and a small table are brought onstage. James and John enter and sit at the table. When the lights come up, they are sitting in silence. John is hunched over the table, head in his hands. James is sitting sideways in the chair, staring emptily out towards the audience. For several seconds, no words are spoken.

James: (head turning to John) Do you think we’re safe up here?

Text appears on the screen: “James and John – Disciples of Jesus.”

John: (without moving) Andrew said the soldiers have already been through this part of town.

James: They might come back.

John: Peter and Matthew are keeping watch at the door. We’ll all be okay till morning.

They are both silent. James stands up and takes a few steps forward.

James: Have you seen Judas?

John shakes his head.

John: This is our fault.

James turns to look back at John. John looks up at him.

John: You know it is. We left him to die.

James: (defensive) What could we have done, John?

John: (quickly) Anything. (he looks at his hands) I feel filthy.

James: (looking back out towards the audience) We’d have been killed, too, you know.

John nods silently, then speaks.

John: Maybe we should’ve.

There is a pause. James grabs his head in anguish.

James: You know, he saw me, just before they... (John looks up as James tries regaining his composure) He looked right at me. Saw through everyone in the crowd and spotted me.

John: Me too. While he was up there. I couldn’t even hold his gaze.

James: (pondering John’s earlier words, he nods) It should’ve been us. (pauses) Back when things were good, sure, we were there – but now? The one time he actually

John: (stopping James) But this was part of his plan. He said that.

James: (angrily) We left him! Was that part of his plan?

John: (pauses) I don’t know. (another pause) Maybe he knew we would.

James: Then why did he ever ask us to follow him?

Cut to black. James and John exit, bringing the props with them.


Scene Three – Judas

Thunder and heavy rain begin. Judas runs onstage, gasping for breath. He is looking behind him, in a state of panic. He stops to rest near the front of the stage.

Judas: (talking to himself) They wouldn’t take it back. They wouldn’t take it back.

Text appears on the screen: “Judas – Disciple of Jesus.” The “Disciple of Jesus” part fades first, and then “Judas” fades as well.

Judas: They said they wouldn’t take it. (with a darkly sarcastic tone) They called it ‘blood money’. The money they paid me and now all of a sudden when I try to return it and I can’t take it back! I can’t undo –

Judas falls to his knees, tugging on his hair, head low. He puts his hands on the ground for support.

Judas: I can’t undo it.

Judas looks out at the audience.

Judas: They’re probably all wondering where I am. They might be looking for me (stands up quickly, walking to stage left) – if they find me, they’ll – no – I can’t let them find me.

Heading towards the stage left exit, he stops. He turns back to face the audience.

Judas: Not like I wouldn’t deserve it.

Thunder rumbles. Judas pulls his clothes closer to himself.

Judas: It’s my fault. If it weren’t for me, everything would have been fine. He wouldn’t be –

Thunder cracks again. Judas turns and looks at the cross, and then turns away in anguish, pulling on his hair again.

Judas: His face is in my head – I can’t stop seeing him – seeing what I did! (he starts hitting himself in the head with his palms) I just want it back the way it was – I didn’t know – I don’t want this – I don’t – I don’t –

Judas turns towards the audience again, regaining control for a moment.

Judas: And he knew! Even before they found him, he looked right at me and said “What you are about to do – do quickly.” Do quickly. ‘Cause he knew. When he first told me to follow him – he knew that one day I was gonna –

Judas pauses.

Judas: I deserve it. I deserve it. I deserve it. (another pause) I can’t carry it. (exiting in a hurry) I can’t carry it.

bottom of page