top of page

Why Mickey Mouse Hates Your Selfie Stick

Updated: Apr 11, 2023

The fireworks danced and burst against the dark sky, proclaiming that joy and beauty and magic were as timeless as light itself. Around me were hundreds and hundreds of awestruck sons and daughters that I had never met. Beside me were my two sisters, my brother, and my mom, and we were enjoying this moment together.


It was Christmas Day, 2014. We were at the Magic Kingdom in Walt Disney World. The video here is a sum-up of the trip my sister put together that I think you'll enjoy.


Several months earlier, my single mother saw that my three siblings and I were growing up and that we'd soon be moving out, each going our own way to do whatever it is we're going to do with our lives. That's why this past December, a mother's wish brought my family to the most magical place on earth. Here we were, escaping the clutches of pirates and meeting princesses and blasting off into space. It was an unforgettable time, no questions about it.


Obviously we all brought our cameras, and took lots of pictures and videos of us on our journey. Watching the videos now is a great way to re-live all those glorious moments we spent with Mickey Mouse and Queen Elsa. I'm so glad I live in a time when we can record memories like that. To that end, the "selfie stick" is a really cool invention. It's a way to help us take pictures of ourselves and our families, to remember special moments.


That said, my family didn't have a selfie stick when we went this past December. As a result, there are one or two pictures where one of my family is absent, as they are the one taking the picture. Of course, there are plenty of pictures where we just cuddled up - like a family - together and fit into the shot with one person reaching their arm out. There are plenty more like that where we - like ordinary people- just asked Disney staff to take a photo of us. The park is actually stuffed with Disney staff photographers who are more than happy to snap a professional photo of you.


I heard lately that selfie sticks have been banned at Disneyworld. They're saying it's a safety concern, and although some people are getting mildly annoyed by it, I don't think of it as much of a bother. After all, God gave me two functioning arms to take my own photos. A selfie stick is a cool tool for sure, but it's not a mandatory part of picture taking. Also, all this means is that I might have snuggle a bit closer with my family, or that - heaven help me - I might have to interact with a stranger. Who knows what could happen there? They might make a funny joke, or they might butcher the picture and end up being a funny memory for us. They might even be cool people and end up bumping into us later that day.


I think it's awesome that we have cameras. They're a beautiful invention. I think Disney recognizes that, which is why they haven't banned picture-taking. Disney wants you to remember your trip while staying safe. Let's get real for a second. If several thousand people are in a tight space and are all armed with long metal sticks while riding roller coasters and other fast-moving rides, doesn't it seem like the potential for accidents is pretty substantial?


But selfie sticks aside, when I was standing under that beautiful castle watching the fireworks go off that Christmas night, I was holding the camera towards the sky when I hit the "stop recording" button and slid it back into my pocket. I watched those fireworks not through the screen of my iPhone, but with my own eyes. Not a huge difference, I'll admit it. But I did think to myself,


"I won't have any trouble remembering this."


I am wrong about many things, but I wasn't wrong about that.


-----


If you want to see all the awesome moments that happened during our Christmas-At-Disneyworld vacation, you can check out the playlist that shows us at Magic Kingdom, Epcot, Hollywood Studios and Animal Kingdom, as well as encountering other wonders of America!


If you're a fan of Disney's Pirates of the Caribbean - the ride or the movies - you might want to look at my new book, Fire and Water. It's got adventure, excitement, and a whole lot of swashbuckling action.


bottom of page